España, I Can’t Wait to See You Soon!

3.jpg

Credit Picture: http://www.australiansabroad.com.au/destinations/europe/spain/

Just in case anyone does not know, España is Spain in Spanish. In preparation for the trip, I started to learn to speak Spanish as I want to blend in well with the people who owns the language that is second most spoken in the world. Actually, I only know few Spanish words like “Hola” (Hello), “cómo estás” (How are you?), “Gracias” (Thank you) and most importantly, taught by my Italian CBS clustermate “Quiero Vino”, which means “I want wine!”.

Spain has long been one of the countries I wanted to visit because of its long history, rich heritage and great influence around the world as evidenced by the fact that the Spanish language is the second most spoken in the world, even more than the English. Spain is famous for so many things such as its food like chorizos, churros, and tapas, its soccer teams, Real Madrid and Barcelona, and its architecture with 44 UNESCO world’s heritage sites. The country is the place of birth of many world’s renowned artists such as Pablo Picasso, Miguel Cervantes and Salvador Dali. In 2016, the second richest man in the world is also Spanish, Amancio Ortega, the owner of Inditex or known as the owner of Zara brand with the net wealth of $73 billion. Its culture is very interesting and unique in many ways. I was told that Spanish people are very chill. And, I was surprised to know that I will need to adjust my biological clock since the local people normally have dinner at 9-11 pm. With all these interesting facts I learned about Spain, I am now very excited to explore and learn more about its history, culture, and people and to see the amazing places with my own eyes.

For the next seven days, our group of twenty CBS classmates will be visiting Barcelona, Galicia, and Madrid. Our schedule is very rich with business meetings with big companies such as Inditex, Santander and Ferrovial, visiting famous museums, strolling around on the beach and in the beautiful cities and featuring every day with Spanish delicacies.

And, this is why I cannot wait to see you soon, España!

Thanujdee Seriwathanophas ‘17

Chazen Spain

One thought on “España, I Can’t Wait to See You Soon!

What are your thoughts?

