We Love India

James Williams ’17

great-india

Before I forget – most of the photos in this post were taken by Isabel Lacambra ’18 who as you will see has great taste and takes wonderful photos.

We left Mumbai on the 1st for Jaipur.  Our hilarious tour guide Adil explained that Indian towns founded by Hindus end in pur while those founded by Muslims end in abad.

I’ve had a fantastic time so far and am grateful not only for the opportunity to visit this beautiful country in a way I certainly could not on my own but for all of my wonderful classmates whom I would not have met otherwise.

Here’s a picture that I love of the group.

group-at-fort

After an exciting evening and beautiful afternoon in Jaipur we took a 5 hour bus ride to Delhi.   I mention the length of the ride because while it was an exhausting trip we have had a great time on many of our bus rides.  The aisle has served as a dance hall and karaoke stage and I’ve gotten to bond with many fellow CBS’ers by sitting beside them between one place and another.

Here’s another photo of the group.  Notice Orgil Sedvanchig ’17 in the back row being non-compliant :).

amber-fort-group-pic

I am sure that I am not alone in the difficulty I experience trying to describe this place to family and friends who inquire.  On my first day all I could say was that it was “intense.”  I’ve gotten a bit better at articulating how India makes me feel but it is still a work in progress.

  1. India is a place of beautiful colors.  chokni-dhaniumbrellaschokni-dhani-2
  2. India makes me really happy and sometimes really sad.  .   street-scene street-scene-2

At the risk of ending this post on a low note, a lot of India reminds me of how fortunate I have been.  Unequal access to resources breaks my heart.

At any rate, this trip has been immensely educational and broaden my horizons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are your thoughts?

