Bucket List or Bust

Courtney Richardson ’17: South Korea/Hong Kong

Since I was accepted to CBS nearly two years ago, I’ve been not-so-secretly plotting how I’d work my way through my “Around the World” bucket list during my time at school. What used to be just a laundry list of countries I saw in coffee table books or screenshots I saved from Instagram all of a sudden became a tangible reality.

For the first time in life, I was surrounded by a group of peers who had the same passion (and equal intent) to see the world. And even more than that, we all finally had the time to do it. Never would I expect that someone would send me a group text at midnight on a random Tuesday saying “Hey, you want to go to the Philippines”, and I’d end up booking a flight within hour. But that’s been the beauty of my CBS experience.

I’ve wanted to take every opportunity to make the most of these absurd and amazing two years that we call business school to see the world. It was this mindset that took me to beaches of Punta Cana with more than half of class of 2017 last fall and what led me to the deserted shores of the Island of Palawan with fifteen of my clustermates last spring. It is that same mindset that makes me so excited for my first official study tour with Chazen.

chazen

Tomorrow, I’ll start my 19-hour journey from New York to join Chazen Seoul/Hong Kong. Our amazing student organizers have dubbed our trip East Asia: The Perfect Pop-Cultural Storm and I couldn’t have asked for a better fit. I came to business school to transition into media and entertainment, so I couldn’t pass up on this chance to dive into two of the fastest growing arts and entertainment markets in the world. I’m excited to see what’s in store for us over the next ten days and look forward to chronicling my journey here.

See you in Seoul!

 

What are your thoughts?

