Chazen Japan: The Adventure Begins

After two weeks of doing nothing but prepping for exams, I am finally prepping for my Chazen Japan trip!  And there is a lot to prep for.  To kick things off my fellow classmates and I will have the opportunity to take in the sights of Kyoto (our friendly guides/classmates are keeping our exact destinations a secret so that we don’t ruin it with pre-trip googling), and experience a traditional Japanese tea ceremony.

From Kyoto we head to Toyota for a complete factory tour.  I think I speak for everyone who had Professor Hall for Operations Management when I say that I cannot wait to see their just-in-time inventory in action (#epic)!

Then it is on to Tokyo for a few days.  On the agenda: Uniqlo, DeNA, Citi, and Mori.  It’s going to be pretty jam packed with company visits, group dinners, karaoke, and all of the many ramen shops that that are circulating around the group Facebook page (I am planning on visiting at least two…at least…).

Yuzu (Japanese citron) Salt Ramen is good. Light taste Ramen shop

Now you may be wondering, how on earth I am going to be able to keep up with such a crazy schedule.  And I don’t blame you.  I was wondering that myself…But as it turns out that isn’t going to be a problem.

Introducing the Chazen Japan 2013 Yapp Ap:

Chazen Japan Yapp Cover                       Chazen Japan Yapp Schedule

One of my awesome trip-mates put this together so that we not only know where to be when, but it is also packed with useful tips such as what to wear, Japanese phrases, phone numbers for our hotels, and more.

So as you can see, this trip is going to be amazing.  Companies, culture, and new friends.  Get excited.  The adventure kicks off tomorrow.

-Lacy Pierce, ’14 (Follow my travels: https://twitter.com/lacypierce)

One thought on “Chazen Japan: The Adventure Begins

What are your thoughts?

