Countdown to Chazen India: Vaccines & Visas

The Chazen India trip is a mere week away and I could not be more excited! I have been preparing for the trip for almost two months now – getting every vaccine known to man (minus the one for Japanese Encephalitis – thank goodness); standing in line at the India Visa Center for hours; and coordinating travel itineraries with friends at HBS and NYU Stern who will also be in India over the winter break. In addition, I have tried to familiarize myself with the culture by perusing the very in-depth reading packet that the Chazen Institute and our trip leaders compiled for us. It covers everything from the Economist Intelligence Unit’s latest Country Report to timely feature articles on different aspects of Indian business and society from The Economist and The New York Times. I appreciate the contextual reading material, as it will hopefully allay boredom on a long flight and give me fodder to think of insightful questions for our company visits.

20121222-192904.jpg

Chazen India Social Media Guru, DeShaun Maria Harris
Photo from my participation in the South Asian Business Association’s Diwali Celebration a month before the trip. A group of us CBSers performed choreographed Bollywood-style dances.

Before I entered the lottery to be afforded the opportunity to go on this trip, my primary knowledge of India had passed through the lens of American media and Bollywood imports. The summer after I finished high school, I worked for an Indian couple who owned a men’s clothing store in my rural South Georgia town. Sometimes, on a break from customers, Mrs. Sada would invite me to watch Hindi and Telugu movies (with English subtitles), and eat yogurt rice after lunch. So, brilliantly colored clothing, vibrant cinematic displays, and deliciously spicy foods are what currently come to mind when I envision this ethnically diverse sub-continent which accounts for 17% of the world’s population. Looking to broaden my perspective? You bet! I have no idea when business or pleasure will give me a reason to return, so I plan to capture as many different snapshots of India as I can in a two-week stay. Hopefully, my accounts will accurately convey what my CBS peers and I experience, and serve to peak your interest in visiting this evolving global powerhouse.

~DeShaun Maria Harris, ’14 (Follow my travels: twitter.com/aspiringmaven)

What are your thoughts?

